12 Instagrammable Spots in Hong Kong You Can’t Miss!

I would always refer to Hong Kong as a true Instagramers’ playground, anywhere you turn you’re pretty much guaranteed a perfect picture spot and you can get really creative. After travelling around Hong Kong and finding fantastic instagram-worthy photo spots I decided to  make a list of all my favourites.

Before travelling to Hong Kong, I did some research to aid me in my venture for the most instagrammable spots. This proved to be very helpful, afterall not all the spots were easy to find! However with the help of my research, awesome people I met along the way and limited Maps.me skills I’ve managed to locate all the best picture-worthy spots and now I can share the best ones here with you. You’re all welcome.

1. Choi Hung Estate (a.k.a. The Rainbow Estate)

One of the most popular and known instagrammable spots in Hong Kong, expect Choi Hung Estate to be busy. After planning ahead and arriving on a holiday weekend at 8am, there were only a few groups of people taking pictures. However the majority of the population at the site were lovely elderly locals practicing Tai Chi, so it definitely had a more authentic feel – it’s not all just for us tourists afterall.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

2. Yick Cheong Building (a.k.a. Monster Building)

Another famous building, mostly known from theTransformers movie. A massive concrete housing block is a very popular photo spot in Hong Kong.

Now I want to caution that this is a residential area and locals recently put up signs saying that no photos should be taken here. Not many people abide to this, including myself but I still want to provide the information so you can choose what’s right for you. However, no one asked me to stop taking pictures or to leave.

For the very similar view but less touristy, go to the Montane Mansion next door.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

Exact location to the Montane Mansion picture spot here

3. Lok Wah South Estate

This one is a little more out of the way, but if you have some extra time to spare or you are absolutely keen on this unique photo spot then it’s an absolute must!

I arrived on a holiday weekend around 10am and only found 2 people taking photos. Realising this place is not that well known and also not so many people make the effort to find it. I must say it took me a while to locate the exact location, after using any means I could think of (google, asking locals, maps and lots of walking around in circles!) only after 45 minutes of being helplessly lost I met a local lady who kindly led me to this spot.

Now my struggle of finding this place is your gain because the exact location I marked below!

Exact location to where I took this picture here

4. Ping Shek Estate

Ping Shek Estate is a collection of public housing near the Choi Hung Estate (Rainbow Estate). What’s unique about this building is the design, from the inner square of the building you can look up and observe the building rise dozens of floors. It is very impressive to see it in person.

Prior to coming here I met an awesome American Traveler and we went on the search for Ping Shek Estate together. Once again very lost, completely misled by another travel blog we were struggling to find the right building. Luckily a lovely local man once again saved our day and pointed us in the right direction.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

5. Man Fung Building

My absolute favourite spot! Also one that’s the hardest to access.

Now just before finding this gem I met a South African couple and all together being lost for a while eventually we discovered a way to the top of a building opposite the Man Fung Building. Note there is no official viewing platform.

We asked a local lady leaving her apartment block if it would be fine for us to get to the roof, she was happy to let us in and we made our way to the top.

Coming here and getting to the rooftop of a building opposite is a gamble. All the buildings require an access code to enter. Your best chance is to wait for a resident to enter/exit the building and hope they are happy to let you in.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

6. Shek Kip Mei Estate

Sometimes I felt like finding instagrammable spots in Hong Kong was a full time commitment! Writing this blog I’m realising more and more that words ‘I was lost’ are often recurring.

So.. I was lost looking for Shek Kip Mei Estate photo spot, completely unable to find ANY blog which would lead me to the right place. Once again, very lucky to have met a very adventurous and fun couple from South Africa, we went on a quest to find our photo spot.

Based on a collection of Shek Kip Mei Estate photos I had on my iPhone, as a team we worked together to locate the Jockey Club Creative Arts Centre. Once we got there it was easy to find our way to the top, staff around the building didn’t mind us roaming around taking photos.

The exact spot where I took my photo has a ‘no entry’ sign, however we decided to enter anyway and take our photos, no one came to stop us.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

7. Garden Hill

At the Garden Hill you will find 2 in 1 perfect photo spot and a stunning sunset city view! All it takes is an easy hike up some concrete stairs for 15-20 minutes. This is perfect to combine with your visit to Shek Kip Mei Estate as they are located very nearby.

You can also bring some food and drinks to enjoy while watching the sunset over Hong Kong.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

8. Western District Public Cargo Working Area (a.k.a. The Instagram Pier)

Instagram Pier, this is how locals refer to the West District Public Cargo Pier. Many locals come here to take their instagram shots, however it’s not too known by foreign travelers and is often missed out.

This location contains many colourful cargo containers and very industrial backdrop on one side and stunning city views on the other! This location is perfect for the most unique photos.

It’s a bit out of the way, but if you combine Instagram Pier visit with Sai Wan Swimming Shed then it will absolutely be worth the trip to get those perfect photos.

It’s allowed for anyone to walk on the pier, however beware of the workers. It’s a good idea to pass by quickly to avoid disturbing anyone. However workers are lovely and smile back, aware that many come each day to take photos.

Instagram Pier is also a very popular sunset spot!

Exact location to where I took this picture here

9. Sai Wan Swimming Shed

Another less known and more hidden instagrammable picture spot in Hong Kong is the Sai Wan Swimming Shed.

You can get some pretty sweet views of the river and the islands nearby, so it’s definitely worth a visit (not just for the photo)!.

To get to the Sain Wan Swimming Shed you will have to take the staircase to lead you down.

Just to warn you, there are LOTS of mosquitoes, so be prepared!

Exact location to where I took this picture here

10. Olympic Bridge

Olympic bridge is an instagrammable gem, hidden in the Causeway Bay area. This pedestrian bridge mentions all the Olympic Games that were hosted from the 1896 to 2016 together with the host country. But the reason why I found this place to be attractive instagram spot is all the different colours the bridge was painted in. It’s a great spot to play around with colours and shapes to find what works for you best.

This multicoloured pedestrian bridge has 5 exit staircases, all painted in different colours from the Olympic symbol – blue, yellow, green, red and multicoloured.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

11. Blue House

Formerly a hospital, this building was built in the 1920s with a mixture of Chinese and Western architectural features. Most recently, the Blue House was given the Award of Excellence – the highest level in four categories – by UNESCO at its Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

12. Man Mo Temple

One of the oldest temples in Hong Kong, interior covered in red and gold colours surrounded by the heavy smoke of burning incense and coils hung on the ceiling, creating a unique, hazy and mysterious atmosphere. Man Mo temple is increasingly popular tourist destination and religious site, incense coils and sticks are burned to feed the spirits and bring good fortune.

Exact location to where I took this picture here

Taking photos in Hong Kong can be lots of fun! It’s too easy to get creative, venture out and even find your own unique spots. I had an amazing time traveling in Hong Kong and taking photos, finding all the above spots made my trip more special! I hope my tips will help you work out what photo spots you wish to visit in Hong Kong as well as easily find them when you’re there!


Leave a comment